Tags

, , , ,

English: The Scottish Rite Cathedral of Freema...

by Travis Normand

According to several online reports, the Scottish Rite Building in Santa Fe, New Mexico might soon be placed on the market for sale. Unfortunately, what was being reported a couple of weeks ago as “might” has become “will.”

Here is a quote that apparently appeared on March 4, 2013 at the site SantaFeNewMexican.com (this page can no longer be found and is now only viewable at Newscastic.com):

Another Santa Fe landmark could be on the real estate market this summer. Officials with the Scottish Rite Masonic Center will soon formally inform members about their “serious consideration” of putting the century-old building north of downtown up for sale.

As a member of the Valley of Santa Fe, I recently received a letter informing me of the decision to sell the building. I knew this was coming but that didn’t make it any easier to accept.

I was fortunate enough to receive the Scottish Rite degrees in this soon-to-be sold masonic building.

Further, I can honestly say that my Scottish Rite reunion was the best masonic experience I have had so far.  I firmly believe that the wonderful experience I had can be directly linked to a few specific things, and one of them is this building.

It is very sad to see this happen.  Hopefully the new owner will be one that isn’t looking to make too many changes to the building and maybe the Valley can continue using the building despite no longer owning it.  I know this is most likely a long-shot but one can hope.

– Class room chair #1. 

Scottish Rite Temple (Santa Fe, New Mexico)

